The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 110: For a whole week . . .
1Γ—
0:00
-2:39

🎧 110: For a whole week . . .

Little Follies, β€œThe Fox and the Clam,” Chapter 6, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

6

FOR A WHOLE WEEK, I had to stay in my room from the time I got home from school until it was time to get ready to go to school the next morning. I also had to apologize to Matthew.
Β Β Β Β Β My mother drove me to Mrs. Barber’s shop. We walked inside, and my mother said, β€œHello, Mrs. Barber. Peter would like to say something to you.”
Β Β Β Β Β Mrs. Barber looked down at me and smiled. She was wearing a white dress with puffy sleeves. Printed on the dress were yellow pansies that looked at me with expressions of stern accusation. But Mrs. Barber didn’t seem to be upset with me at all. She seemed sympathetic.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI’m sorry I punched Matthew,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThat’s all right, Peter,” said Mrs. Barber. β€œI understand.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œPeter would like to apologize to Matthew too, wouldn’t you, Peter,” my mother said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYes,” I said, to the floor.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œMatthew is in the yard, Peter,” said Mrs. Barber. β€œWhy don’t you go out and talk to him there?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOkay,” I said, and I went off in the direction she showed me, through the back room and out a varnished door. I heard my mother and Mrs. Barber talking behind me, and when I paused a moment at the door and looked back into the shop, I saw that my mother was watching me. I opened the door and went out into the yard.
Β Β Β Β Β Matthew was sitting in a tire swing, swinging slowly back and forth, letting his feet scrape in the taupe dust under the swing. I had the feeling that he had been waiting for me. I walked up to him at once. I wanted to get this over with.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œMy mother says that I have to apologize,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β He just kept swinging.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œSo—” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β He just kept swinging.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œSo, I’m doing what she told me I have to do. This is it. I’m doing it now,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWhat?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYou know,” I said. β€œWhat my mother told me to do.”
Β Β Β Β Β I turned and walked away.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times