The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 114: Matthew and I were . . .
1Γ—
0:00
-3:40

🎧 114: Matthew and I were . . .

Little Follies, β€œThe Fox and the Clam,” Chapter 8, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

8

MATTHEW AND I WERE THE BEST READERS in Mrs. Castile’s class, and she let us gallop through all the anthologies that the school had on hand. When reading time came around, Matthew and I would go down to the boiler room, where we had a couple of chairs and desks set up, and read together. At that time, it must have been the fashion to think of readingβ€”or at least of learning to readβ€”as a journey, judging from the great number of anthologies with titles derived from roads, features of roads, and roadside attractions. Matthew and I read our way through Bridges and Tunnels, Highways and Byways, Detours and Roadblocks, Culverts and Sewers, Sidewalks and Gutters, Crosswalks and Stoplights, and Motels and Diners.
Β Β Β Β Β At first, the atmosphere at these boiler-room sessions was tense. Matthew and I faced each other across our desks and read at each other. We spat out the answers to the questions, and we disagreed on the answers to all but the most trivial of them. But as the year wore on, I developed a grudging admiration for him, admiration that was mixed with pity and a strong desire to make him laugh, or at least smile. For his part, Matthew actually seemed to like me, though he continued to shake his head at some of my ideas. Matthew and I, I realized sometime in the spring, had become friends, after a fashion.
Β Β Β Β Β At the end of the school year, on the last day, when Matthew and I were carrying our chairs up from the boiler room, he said to me, β€œPeter, I want to ask you something, and I don’t want you to laugh.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAre we friends?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYes,” I said. β€œI think so.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThen tell me something.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYeah?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWhy are you happy all the time?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI’m not happy all the time,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWell then, why are you happy most of the time?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI don’t know,” I answered. It was an honest answer.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œDo you think I’ll be happy someday?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β I looked at him. He wasn’t looking at me. I thought of lying, but I didn’t.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNo,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β We didn’t say anything more to each other that day, and I didn’t see Matthew again until September. I discovered, however, that he had infected me with a sympathetic melancholy that lasted well into the summer.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times