The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 125: On the day when . . .
1Γ—
0:00
-1:57

🎧 125: On the day when . . .

Little Follies, β€œThe Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 2, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

2

ON THE DAY when I left the third grade, my classmates threw a party for me. Everyone had brought cupcakes or cookies, and they had collaborated on a card that said GOOD LUCK, PETER. I was pleased, embarrassed, and moved. When it was time to go, I stood at the door with my hand on the knob. I swallowed hard. I thought that I ought to say something.
Β Β Β Β Β At this point I had one of those flashes of inspiration that go off in one’s brain now and then like a flashbulb or a bolt of lightning. I said, β€œI’d like to take a picture of all of you so I can be sure that I’ll never forget you.”
Β Β Β Β Β I had all my classmates gather at one end of the room for a group portrait. I spent some time moving them around to get a good composition, and then I said, β€œOkay, everybody, that looks just perfect. Now everybody smile.” Everybody smiled, and I held the camera to my eye. The familiar uncertainty gripped me, and my finger trembled over the button. I clamped my teeth together, closed my eyes, and pushed.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOkay, everybody, you can relax now,” I called out. I wound the knob on the bottom of the camera. β€œYou know,” I said, β€œsnapshots capture your memories forever.”
Β Β Β Β Β I wasn’t using film in the camera, of course, so my memories began to fade as soon as I walked out the door.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times