The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 134: The times-table business ...
1Γ—
0:00
-4:54

🎧 134: The times-table business ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 10, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

10

THE TIMES-TABLES BUSINESS left me skittish, afraid each day that something else was going to come up in Mrs. Graham’s class that I wouldn’t know, and that I’d have to put myself through another crash program. Whenever Mrs. Graham began a new lesson with the words β€œNow, class,” I would reach for my camera and start chewing on my lower lip and praying that she wouldn’t want us to learn anything I didn’t already know. Mrs. Graham could see that I was anxious about something, and she became convinced that I was having trouble making friends among the fourth-graders.
Β Β Β Β Β She called me to her desk one day while the rest of the class was at work on a page of multiplication problems. I had finished early, but the work had required so much mental finger-counting that my head hurt.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œPeter,” she said. β€œHow would you like to have some fun and really get to know the boys and girls in the fourth grade at the same time?”
Β Β Β Β Β Her cheeks glowed. She was so excited by whatever she was leading up to that I immediately became excited and eager myself.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYou bet,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWell, each year the fourth grade puts on a production of King Lear, and this year I’m in charge. I thought that you might like to be the director,” she began.
Β Β Β Β Β From the frozen smile on my face Mrs. Graham reasoned that I didn’t know what on earth she was talking about.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIt’s a play,” she said. She examined my face for some sign that I was keeping up with her. She didn’t find any, so she elaborated. β€œThe boys and girls put on costumes and act it out on the stage in the auditorium.” She examined my face again. β€œHave you ever seen a play?” she asked finally.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNo,” I said, β€œbut I know what you mean.” I did have an idea of what she meant. After all, the annual production of King Lear was an event of long standing, and I had heard people talk about it. I had been an elf in a Christmas pageant, and I knew that a play was something along the same lines but longer and more elaborate. It wasn’t ignorance that had frozen the smile on my face, it was a tiny thought that had taken root in my mind while she spoke. It was the thought that King Lear was going to turn out to be a lot like the times tables.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI think that you should be the director!” she said. β€œIt will be just wonderful. You’ll get to know nearly all the other fourth-grade boys and girls that way.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œGee,” I said, β€œthat would be great!” I meant it. It would be nice to get to know the other fourth-graders. β€œWhat should I do?” I asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIt won’t be hard, Peter,” said Mrs. Graham. She reached out to pat me on the shoulder, and her elbow struck the vase of flowers on her desk. I lunged toward it and caught the vase with one hand, just as it left the desk top on its way toward the floor. It was quite a feat, I thought. I hardly even spilled any water. When I set the vase back on the desk, I felt that I had in some measure repaid Mrs. Graham for the kindness she was doing me by putting me in a position to get to know the other fourth-graders. β€œThank you, Peter,” she said, so off-handedly that the vase might never have fallen. β€œI’ll help you with all the work you’ll have to do.” She smiled at me, and a warm spot spread around my heart. She reached toward me again, and I reached for the vase at the same time, so that when her elbow struck it I already had a firm grip on it, and it barely moved. She patted me on the shoulder and said, β€œEverything is going to work out just fine.”

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times