The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 136: Mrs. Graham’s first Suggestion ...
0:00
-1:42

🎧 136: Mrs. Graham’s first Suggestion ...

Little Follies, “The Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 12, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

12

MRS. GRAHAM’S FIRST SUGGESTION was that I read King Lear. I did. The school used a simplified, abbreviated, optimistic adaptation called The Story of King Lear and His Daughters, published as part of a series called Classics Made Suitable for Boys and Girls. I read and reread the play, and I tortured my parents with recitations from it at the dinner table, at bedtime, first thing in the morning, and on any occasion that seemed to invite me to quote a line or two.
     Mrs. Graham next suggested that I choose an assistant director. I think that what she had in mind was that I would choose a boy from the class, and that by working closely together we would become friends. But she could see from the speed and eagerness with which I said, “Clarissa Bud,” how much I wanted to have her working with me, for during the time that we had spent together repeating the times tables we had grown quite close, and I was certain that Clarissa was not merely someone who made my heart ache but somebody I understood, someone I could trust.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times