The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 139: Although work on the play ...
1Γ—
0:00
-3:56

🎧 139: Although work on the play ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 15 begins, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

15

ALTHOUGH work on the play seemed to go along pretty well, I couldn’t shake the conviction that King Lear was going to get me into some kind of trouble. I had the kind of indistinct foreboding that, on a sunny day, warns a clamdigger on Bolotomy Bay that a storm is approaching.
Β Β Β Β Β It was a gloriously sunny day, an unseasonably warm day for December, almost a balmy day, when Spike walked home from school with me.
Β Β Β Β β€œHey, Peter! Peter!” she called. β€œWait up!” When she reached me, she was a little out of breath. β€œIt’s such a nice day,” she declared, flinging her arms toward the sky. β€œWhat do you say I walk you home?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI don’t know,” I said. Spike had never had much to say to me before, and I had had hopes that it might be possible for me to get through the entire fourth grade without coming within arm’s reach of her.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œCome on,” she said. β€œYou and I can have a nice talk.” It sounded like a command to me, so I followed her. She walked off, singing β€œThe rain it raineth every day.” When I caught up to her, she raised her arm and I thought she was going to knock me on the ear, but instead she flung her arm across my shoulder and gave me a friendly squeeze.
Β Β Β Β Β While we walked along, scraping our shoes on the sidewalk and chatting about this and that, I thought to myself, β€œGee, this Spike is pretty nice. It just goes to show that you shouldn’t judge people by reputation or appearance.” I almost thought of sharing this observation with Spike, but when I tried putting it into words, it came out as, β€œYou know, Spike, you’re not the rat that everybody thinks you are,” and so I decided to keep it to myself.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHey, Pete,” said Spike, knocking me on the shoulder, β€œa penny for your thoughts.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHuh?” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWhat’re you thinking about so hard? I bet you haven’t heard a word I said.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, uh, nothing,” I said. β€œJust, uh, nothing.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œβ€˜Speak,’” she said, chewing her gum enthusiastically and giving me that big grin again.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNothing,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œβ€˜Nothing?’” she said, widening the grin so that I could see the gum again and giving me a knock on the shoulder.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNothing,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHey! That’s great!” she said. β€œThat was perfect. Maybe you ought to play Cordelia!”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHuh?” I said. Then I realized what she was getting at. β€œOh, I get it,” I said. β€œAct I, Scene I. Yeah. Very good.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œSure,” she said. β€œI’ve been practicing. I think I’d be a pretty good Cordelia myself. What do you say?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œCordelia?” was what I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYeah,” said Spike. She poked me in the stomach with her forefinger. β€œI’m going to try out for the partβ€”and I sure hope I get it.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI don’t know—” I began, without knowing how I was going to finish.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHey, listen,” she said suddenly. β€œI bet you haven’t seen the real King Lear, have you?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œUh, no,” I confessed. β€œIs it different?”

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times