The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 148: I walked home quickly ...
1Γ—
0:00
-4:19

🎧 148: I walked home quickly ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 22, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

22

I WALKED HOME QUICKLY, through back yards and along lightly traveled streets. The sky was dark, and the wind had begun to rise. If it had been a summer afternoon, I would have said that the rumble in the distance was thunder. When I got home, I dashed inside and went directly to my room, where I sat on my bed holding my camera and wondering what to do.
Β Β Β Β Β I heard the phone ring downstairs, but I made no move to answer it. I didn’t want to speak to Spike or Veronica or anyone else who was after a part. My mother came to the foot of the stairs and called up to me. β€œIt’s for you, Peter,” she said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIt’s not Spike, is it?” I asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNoooo,” she said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIt’s not Veronica, is it?” I asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNoooo,” she said. She was wearing a playful smile. β€œIt’s Clarissa Bud. She seems very eager to talk to you.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh,” I said, relieved. β€œClarissa.” I went to the hall and picked up the phone. β€œHello,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, hello, Mr. Leroy,” said Clarissa. β€œI wanted to speak to Peter.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThis is Peter,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œMy goodness!” said Clarissa. β€œI didn’t recognize your voice. You sound so grown-up on the phone. Say something else.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œUhβ€”what should I say?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThat’s amazing!” she declared. β€œYou sound so strong and firm. Of course, that’s the way you sounded this afternoon, when you were on the stage. I was really impressed. I think everybody else was, too.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œReally?” I asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, yes,” she said. She delivered the words with lots of air, making herself sound out of breath, as if she’d been running. β€œWellβ€”how have you been?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI’m still okay,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWhat do you mean, you’re still okay?” she asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHuh?” I said. I felt as if I’d heard her for the first time. I realized that I’d been preoccupied with the idea of Spike’s breaking my foot with a brick or Veronica’s showing up at the back door with my underpants in her hand. β€œOh,” I said. β€œIβ€”I mean nothing happened to me on the way home from school or anything.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, that’s good,” Clarissa said. She sounded bewildered. Then she took a deep breath, and with even more air than before she said, β€œI wouldn’t want anything to happen to you. I’ve missed you.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œYou’ve missed me?” I asked. β€œYou mean since three o’clock?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI feel as if I haven’t seen you for days,” she said. β€œI miss your smile. You have that cute little dimple.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI do?” I said. I tried to drag the phone over to the hall mirror.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, yes!” she said. β€œIn fact, you have one-and-a-half dimples. One on the right side, and a half on the left.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIs that bad?” I asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, no,” she said. β€œI think it’s cute.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHold on a minute, Clarissa,” I said. β€œI want to go look in the mirror.”
Β Β Β Β Β I started to put the handset down, but I heard her calling to me. β€œPeter, wait. Don’t go away. I want to invite you to dinner.”
Β Β Β Β β€œDinner?” I asked, and I brightened at once.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œTomorrow night,” said Clarissa. β€œI hope you’re not doing anything then.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOh, no,” I said. β€œI’m not doing anything.”

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times