The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 196: “What was that?”
--:--
--:--

🎧 196: “What was that?”

Little Follies, “Call Me Larry,” Chapter 10 concludes, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

     “What was that?” whispered Larry.
     “I didn’t hear anything,” said Lucinda.
     “I think someone’s coming,” said Larry. “I’m sure I heard someone laugh out there in the dark.” He switched his flashlight off. He and Lucinda stood silently in the darkness.
     “I don’t hear anything,” said Lucinda.
     “I’m sure now,” said Larry. “I heard someone laugh, and I heard footsteps, the footsteps of two people, two heavy people, on the gravel outside.” Larry took Lucinda’s hand and squeezed it. “We’ve got to hide,” he said. “I wish I could remember where that ladder was. We could hide in the hayloft above us if we could find the ladder, but I’m afraid we might miss our footing in the dark and make a noise. If only I could risk turning the flashlight on for an instant. Wait a minute! There was a wooden box of some kind around here, wasn’t there?”
     “Larry, are you sure someone’s out there? I didn’t hear anything,” said Lucinda.
     “Lucy,” whispered Larry. “I’ve found the box! Hurry! Climb in here. If they find us, there’s no telling what they’ll do to us!”
     The urgency in her brother’s voice was clear. Lucy moved quickly and soundlessly to the box and climbed inside while he held the lid open. The box was narrow and shallow, just about the right size, Lucy reflected as she climbed in, for a coffin. The thought sent a shiver down her spine. She stretched out in the box and Larry climbed in and lowered the lid.
     “There’s not much room in here,” said Larry. “I don’t think I can squeeze beside you. I’m going to have to lie on top of you.”
     “That’s okay,” whispered Lucinda. “It’s pretty comfortable. Somebody has put a blanket and pillow in here.”
     “That’s a stroke of good luck,” said Larry.
     “Hey, what are you doing?” asked Lucinda.
     “I’m just trying to find a comfortable position,” said Larry.
     “If you make yourself any more comfortable, we’re going to have to get engaged,” said Lucinda.
     Larry stifled a laugh. He and Lucinda loved trading wisecracks like this.
     “It’s pretty hot in here, isn’t it?” said Larry.
     “It sure is,” said Lucinda. “What are you doing now?”
     “I’m just trying to get these hot clothes off.”
     “Larry, let me out of here!”
     “It’s not safe out there, Sis.”
     “It’s not safe in here either, Brother.”

Roger Drake, No Laughing Matter: A Larry Peters Adventure

In Topical Guide 196, Mark Dorset considers Box: Unusual Uses for; and Seduction: Ludicrous Attempts at from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times