The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 217: At that moment . . .
1Γ—
0:00
-4:58

🎧 217: At that moment . . .

Little Follies, β€œThe Young Tars,” Chapter 6 concludes, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

Β Β Β Β Β At that moment I understood for the first time that in any organization, whether there are two members or a thousand, there is more to the distribution of power than meets the eye, even the eye of a member. The outward and visible system of ranks may offer no clue to the invisible system of power. I was right about that in general, I think, but I was wrong in supposing that I understood the specific invisible system of power within the Tars organization. (Sometimes, when I bring my young self to mind this way and see the little guy brightening because he’s concocted a half-baked idea, I wish I could reach out across time and tap him on the shoulder and say, β€œThat’s good, Peter, but there’s more to it. Wait and see.”)
Β Β Β Β Β I had decided, reasoning from my insight into the nature of power, that whether I wound up carrying the rank of Commodore or Bayman wouldn’t have mattered, so long as I had becomeβ€”as I hadβ€”Scribe. That was, it seemed to me, where the real power lay. I had it, and I was going to use it.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right, guys,” Robby called out. β€œLine up.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNo, no, no,” I called out. I waved my arms and shook my head and strode to a position in front of Robby. β€œThat’s not the way you do it. Everybody back into the bleachers,” I said. β€œWe’ve got to do this right. We’ve got to do it by the Manual. A Tar does things by the manual.” As soon as I said it, I knew that it belonged in the manual, as one of the traits, say number three.
Β Β Β Β Β To the Tars in the bleachers, I said, β€œNow go back to doing what you were doing just before Robbyβ€”just before Commodore of the First Water Haskinsβ€”told you to line up.”
Β Β Β Β Β There followed some shuffling about, some discussion, and some disagreement among groups of Tars about what they had been doing just before Robby told them to line up, but finally everyoneβ€”even the parents who had come to watchβ€”assumed exaggerated versions of the positions they had been in and engaged one another in exaggerated versions of the conversations they had been having.
Β Β Β Β Β To Robby, I whispered, β€œNow you say, β€˜All right, me Swabbies, hit the deck!’”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right, me Swabbies,” bellowed Robby, β€œhit the deck!”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œOkay,” I called out to the Tars, β€œall you Swabbies run onto the floor and line up facing us.”
Β Β Β Β Β To Robby, I whispered, β€œNow you say, β€˜All right, me Baymen, hit the deck!’”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right, me Baymen,” bellowed Robby, β€œhit the deck!”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œBaymen,” I called out, β€œrun onto the floor and line up in front of the Swabbies.”
Β Β Β Β Β We continued in that fashion, moving up through the ranks, until all the Tars were lined up in front of us, each Tar standing in front of a Tar of the next lower rank. Something struck me. The Tars were also lined up by height and weight. The shortest, fattest Tars were in the front. The tallest, thinnest were in the back, lowly Swabbies. This seemed an odd and amusing coincidence, and I thought of pointing it out to Mr. Summers, but something prevented me. Call it a hunch if you like; it was as if someone had tapped me on the shoulder and said, β€œBetter wait and see, Peter. There may be more to this than you think.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll you Tars of the First Water,” called Mr. Summers. β€œInto the coach’s office.” He pointed toward the door with his toy bazooka. β€œFor a humility session.”

In Topical Guide 217, Mark Dorset considers Power: Distribution of Within an Organization and Frustration Arising from the Impossibility of Traveling Back in Time to Assist One’s Younger SelfΒ  from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times