The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 219: I arrived at the gym ...
1Γ—
0:00
-3:53

🎧 219: I arrived at the gym ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Young Tars,” Chapter 8 begins, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

8

I ARRIVED at the gym well before the start of the next meeting. The doors to the school hadn’t even been opened yet. I ran around to the boiler-room door and tapped on its wire-reinforced window with a rock to wake Mr. Griswold, the janitor, a huge bear of a man whom I never saw anywhere but in the old school, usually in the basement. Now and then, if I stayed at school late for some reason, I would see him pushing a broom along one of the hallways, pushing piles of a bright green sweeping compound that was stored in the basement in huge pressed-cardboard drums. Once, Babbington Bivalve By-products had delivered to Mr. Griswold a dozen drums of a new product, KlamKleen, that the company hoped would replace the green sweeping compound, which, I suppose, school janitors all over the country then used. KlamKleen was a white powder made from finely ground clamshells. β€œAnother Useful By-product from One of Nature’s Most Versatile Creatures,” the slogan on the barrels proclaimed. The powder rose in choking clouds as Mr. Griswold swept, drifting on the air currents in the old building and penetrating to every nook and cranny, requiring the closing of school for a thorough vacuuming. Eleven unopened drums of KlamKleen still stood in the storage room.
Β Β Β Β Β To my surprise, it wasn’t Mr. Griswold who came to the door; it was Porky White.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHi, Porky,” I said. β€œHow come you’re here?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI’m the night janitor now,” he said. β€œI talked Grizzly into hiring me so that he could sleep. He pays me half of what he gets paid. I’ve got to get some money together to open a restaurant.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI heard about that,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œInterested in investing?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWell,” I said, β€œI—”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThat’s okay, Peter,” said Porky. β€œI was only kidding.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œBut I’d like to invest,” I said. β€œI’ve never invested in anything before.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThanks, Peter,” said Porky, β€œbut, really, I was only kidding.” He paused. β€œYou don’t really have any money to invest, do you?” he asked.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI got a savings bond for my birthday,” I said. β€œTwenty-five dollars. Would that be enough?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIt’s a deal,” said Porky. He held out his hand, and I shook it. β€œYou’re the first official investor.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThe first?” I said. β€œWow.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œHey,” said Porky, β€œyou’re pretty early, aren’t you? The meeting doesn’t start till seven-thirty.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI wanted to make sure that I was the first one here,” I said. β€œI want everything to go the way it should this time.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAhhh,” Porky said, folding his arms over his stomach. β€œA perfectionist.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œA perfectionist?” I asked, of myself as much as of Porky. β€œI guess you’re right,” I said. β€œI am a perfectionist, I suppose.”

In Topical Guide 219, Mark Dorset considers Investing: β€œGetting in on the Ground Floor” from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times