The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 224: Another aside.
1Γ—
0:00
-2:53

🎧 224: Another aside.

Little Follies, β€œThe Young Tars,” Chapter 10, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

10

ANOTHER ASIDE. I was surprised and, I must admit, annoyed, to discover, as I described my guilty feelings about working on the β€œTales for Tars,” deceiving my father by disguising work I wanted to do as work I had to do, how little my attitude toward work that brings pleasure has changed. I still feel guilty when I’m doing such work, still feel that if I’m having a good time I must not be working hard enough, still feel that work that brings pleasure can’t be real work. One of the most persistent and pernicious of the wrong ideas I learned in school, an idea reinforced by my father’s attitude toward his work at the gas station, and by his attitude toward the avocations my grandfathers pursuedβ€”Guppa’s tinkering, Big Grandfather’s boatbuildingβ€”was the idea that work, real work, was not a pleasure. One might derive a little backhanded pleasure from seeing a job done at last (pleasure of the I-keep-hitting-myself-on-the-head-because-it-feels-so-good-when-I-stop variety, the kind of pleasure celebrated in beer commercials: β€œHey, you made it through another day on that lousy job! It’s time to pop open a frosty Lethe and forget the whole dirty business!”), but, according to my father and to many of my teachers (I exclude half a dozen magnificent ones), the pleasure didn’t come from the work itself. I’m sorry that they never knew what pleasure comes from working well, that when you’re working as well as you can you’re inclined to giggle, and that when you find yourself, once in a rare while, working better than you ever thought you could, the feeling is so euphoric that a tingle runs across your back and you have a suspicion that you might be growing wings.

In Topical Guide 224, Mark Dorset considers Eureka Moments and Work and Play from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times