The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 232: On the night of ...
1Γ—
0:00
-4:39

🎧 232: On the night of ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Young Tars,” Chapter 17 begins, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

17

ON THE NIGHT of the last meeting of the Young Tars, I arrived at the school very early. Porky let me in, and we went upstairs to the office together, where I ran off copies of the manual on the mimeograph machine. Porky helped me collate and staple them, and we carried them to the gym, where Porky took a position at the door, so that he could give a copy to each Tar as he arrived. I took my position in the circle at the center of the floor. I paced nervously within the circle, taking care not to leave it.
Β Β Β Β Β When most of the Tars had arrived, I called for attention, and after the usual (and, according to the latest and final version of the manual, required) shushing, elbowing, and rude noises, I got it.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI know you’re all unhappy about getting another version of the manual,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β There was a rowdy uproar at this, with raspberries.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right, all right,” I said, holding my hands in the air to signal for quiet. β€œI promise you—”
Β Β Β Β Β I was drowned out by the groans and hoots of boys who had been made too many promises of the sort they knew they were going to hear. I laughed, and they laughed with meβ€”well, they laughed, anyway.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI promise you,” I shouted above them, β€œthat this is absolutely the last Tars Manual you will ever receive.”
Β Β Β Β Β Wild whooping and screaming greeted this announcement.
Β Β Β Β I said, β€œWe’re going to conduct this meeting strictly by the manual.”
Β Β Β Β Β I held my copy of the manual high.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œA Tar does things by the manual,” I called out.
Β Β Β Β Β Mr. Summers walked in just then, carrying his Ping-Pong bazooka, and made his way down the steps to the gym floor. When he was within ten feet or so of me, I saluted him. I tried to put into my salute the tone of sarcasm, of mockery, of insolence, that I had put into my saying β€œAye, Sir,” the week before.
Β Β Β Β Β Mr. Summers returned my salute with what looked to me like a nasty glance, but I smiled.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œPrecious Metals,” he called out. β€œI want you in the coach’s office for a humility session.” The Precious Metals scrambled down from their seats in the bleachers and waddled across the floor to the coach’s office. Mr. Summers turned to me. β€œHumility is something you could use a good dose of, Peter,” he said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAye, Sir,” said I.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œImpudence takes many forms, Peter, as I see you’ve learned. Learn this too: Pride goeth before a fall.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAye, Thir,” said I. I couldn’t resist, and I was new at this nasty game. My understanding of subtlety was not well developed.
Β Β Β Β Β Mr. Summers sneered. He handed me a sheet of paper. β€œI want this added to the manual,” he said. He paused. β€œDon’t rewrite the whole thingβ€”just stick this on the end.” He twisted his mouth into a grin. β€œIt’s the official Tars court-martial procedure,” he said.
Β Β Β Β Β I took the paper from him, saluted again, and said, β€œSir, it’s—”
Β Β Β Β He turned and walked to the coach’s office, herded the last of the Precious Metals inside, and slammed the door.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œβ€”too late,” I said. I crumpled the sheet of paper into a ball and tossed it over my shoulder.

In Topical Guide 232, Mark Dorset considers Words on Paper: Their Power from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times