The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 233: I put the Tars ...
1Γ—
0:00
-6:57

🎧 233: I put the Tars ...

Little Follies, β€œThe Young Tars,” Chapter 17 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

I PUT the Tars through their paces. With every moment that passed, I felt myself drawing closer to the completion of a phase of my life, a phase that I would think of thirty years later as characterized in a significant and memorable way by my involvement with the Young Tars. My excitement and happiness grew. I began to feel the pride that comes with the satisfactory completion of something, a feeling that has since become one of the sustaining emotions of my life, the feeling that makes me rub my hands together, grin, sigh, and say to myself, β€œAt last it’s finished, and it’s perfectβ€”well, as close to perfect as I can make it.”
Β Β Β Β Β I didn’t try to make my feelings show, but they influenced, inevitably, my tone of voice, my gestures, and my carriage, for I was not then any more than I am now able to keep my emotions out of my style. The message in the style I used with the Tars was as clear as the message in the style I used with Mr. Summers. Without quite understanding what I was doing, I was using style to communicate an idea, the idea that things were reaching some kind of conclusion, something like perfection, a pleasure of a yet-to-be-determined kind. The Tars saw it, understood it, and returned it. The rehearsal was shipshape. The Tars were spiffy. Our ship was coming into port.
Β Β Β Β Β When we had finished the rehearsal, and the last echoes of the Tars Hymn died away, I held my hands up for silence. The idea that something was up hung in the air, and I got the quiet I wanted.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThis is the time when we would usually end the rehearsal and call Mr. Summers and the Precious Metals out to start the regular part of the meeting,” I said, heart pounding, palms sweating. β€œBut tonight I have kind of a surprise for you. You remember that I told you this would be the last version of the Tars Manual,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β I held it over my head.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWell I meant it.”
Β Β Β Β Β A resounding cheer.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAnd now I’m going to prove it to you.”
Β Β Β Β Β Silence.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI want everybody to turn to the last page in the manual.”
Β Β Β Β Β Flipping of pages.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThe very last page.”
Β Β Β Β Β When everyone had turned to the last page, I began reading.

Β Β Β Β Β β€œWait a minute, Peter,” Porky interrupted. β€œAre you really going to resign now, or is this just practice?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI’m really going to resign now,” I said.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œWell, this may be kind of a technical point,” said Porky, β€œbut if you’re really resigning, shouldn’t you do it in the real meeting? This is just the practice for the meeting, isn’t it?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNot any more,” I said, beaming, enormously grateful to Porky for playing the straight man this way. I flipped back to the beginning of the manual and read:

Β Β Β Β Β I looked up at Porky and grinned.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œThat’s good,” he said. β€œThat’s very good. Very, very good. I’m gonna get Mr. Summers out here,” he said, chuckling. β€œI’ve got to see what he thinks of this. Just wait a minute, Peter, okay?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œIf I wait, I might chicken out, Porky,” I said. β€œI’ve got to keep going.”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAll right,” said Porky, jumping from the bleachers and trotting across the floor, β€œbut try to stretch it out.”
Β Β Β Β Β From the pocket of my bell-bottom Tars Trousers, I took my spiral-bound notebook. I flipped it open and began reading from it a revised, final version of the remarks I had first prepared months earlier. β€œYou know,” I read, adopting a puzzled look, to indicate that the world was sometimes just too illogical, too crazy a place for me to understand, β€œI always thought Mr. Summers was making a mistake when he made me the Scribe.” This was received with a little uneasy chuckling. I continued in my practiced all-kidding-aside tone: β€œAfter all, I only got the job because I happened to be carrying a notebook. I won’t make that mistake again.”
Β Β Β Β Β I tossed my notebook over my shoulder as I had tossed the court-martial procedures. A little more uneasy chuckling.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNow that I’m going to resign, I want you to know that, all things considered, I liked being Scribe, but I have to admit that I’ve got better things to do than change the order of the traits again—”
Β Β Β Β Β There was laughter at this, we-know-just-what-you-mean laughter.
Β Β Β Β Β After a pause, I added, β€œβ€”and again—”
Β Β Β Β Β They roared.
Β Β Β Β Β After a longer pause, I said, β€œβ€”and again.”
Β Β Β Β Β I brought down the house.

In Topical Guide 233, Mark Dorset considers Words on Paper: Their Power and Dialect, Slang, Idiolect from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times