The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
šŸŽ§ 272: Herb stood . . .
1Ɨ
0:00
-3:17

šŸŽ§ 272: Herb stood . . .

Herb ā€™nā€™ Lorna, Chapter 5 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

HERB STOOD at a window in the Chacallit House, smoking, looking at the moon, thinking of Lorna, trying to remember everything she had said and done, every move sheā€™d made, the way sheā€™d looked in every slant of light, especially the way sheā€™d looked when sheā€™d made him lose track of what heā€™d meant to say.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā How does she do that? Itā€™s some trick she has with the way she turns her head, or the way she tilts her chin. Something. I donā€™t know. And quick-witted? Youā€™ve got to hand it to her. That business with her parents. She had her mother and father thinking I was somebody else. What did she say? ā€œThey were sure they should know you, so they decided they did know you.ā€ Something like that. Iā€™m not sure how she did it. Maybe they had been expecting someone else, but I donā€™t think so. It was the way she conducted herself, as if they ought to know who I was, and she confused them. She does that to many people, I imagine. She must have the fellows in Chacallit following her in a line. How many, I wonder? Too many for her to bother with me, I guess. Why not me, though? Thereā€™s nothing wrong with me. Mr. Huber liked me; Iā€™m sure of that. He seemed sorry for me somehow. He made me wonder whether my coat was torn or something. Still, I could tell he liked me. The mother, too. Why shouldnā€™t she, then? Iā€™ve got good prospects. I probably make more money than most fellows my age in this town. Oh, donā€™t be foolish. She doesnā€™t know anything about me. I can call her Cinderella. Cinderella. Why did I let her get away with that? Aaaah, because it wasnā€™t worth pursuing. Iā€™ll be gone tomorrow, and there isnā€™t much chance that Iā€™ll ever be back. Good God, I didnā€™t mean that. Iā€™ll be back. Knock on wood. You look out for yourself, you keep your eyes open, and you do just what you have to do, chances are good youā€™ll get through all right. I might get killed. I might get hurt, lose something, lose a leg, a hand, fingers. Suppose I do get killed. Suppose I do? I might. Here I am about to get killed, and I donā€™t have the courage to go back and talk to her, ask her to write to me. I will go back, first thing in the morning.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times