The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
🎧 126: I closed the door . . .
1Γ—
0:00
-4:18

🎧 126: I closed the door . . .

Little Follies, β€œThe Girl with the White Fur Muff,” Chapter 3, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

3

I CLOSED THE DOOR BEHIND ME, and in a watery haze I walked down the hall, away from the familiar, toward the unknown. I wasn’t crying, but there was a lump in my throat, my eyes were watering, and everything ahead of me was blurry, indistinct. I had closed the door of Room 218 behind me, but in a larger sense I had closed a larger door, and the echoes of its closing reverberated in the hazy corridor that lay ahead of me. I had closed the door on third grade, on a part of my childhood, forever. I was walking toward an uncertain future, and I couldn’t make out where I was going.
Β Β Β Β Β From my right, I heard Matthew Barber’s voice. β€œPeter,” he called, β€œwatch where you’re going. You’ll fall down the stairs.” I felt his hand on my arm. He stopped me from going farther. β€œCome on,” he said. β€œCome into the boys’ room.” I followed where he led me, and after I had dried my eyes and washed my face I felt better.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI feel better now,” I said. I clutched my camera a little tighter for strength, stood up straight, and added, β€œLet’s go to the fourth grade, shall we?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI don’t know, Peter,” said Matthew. β€œWe’re probably making a big mistake. Do you think they’d let us back into the third grade?”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œAw, come on, Matthew,” I said. β€œWe would have gone into the fourth grade eventually anyway. We might as well face up to it now. Besides, I don’t think they’ll let us go backβ€”there was something about the way the door closed behind meβ€”and the way it echoed in the hallway.”
Β Β Β Β Β Matthew stared at the floor. β€œYeah,” he said quietly. β€œI heard that too.” He sighed. β€œWe should have left well enough alone,” he said, shaking his head. β€œThings usually turn out wrong.”
Β Β Β Β Β I gave him a knock on the shoulder, as if to say, β€œChin up!” and said, β€œBaloney, Matthew! Things are going to be great! We’ve got a great future ahead of us!” I was beginning to believe it. β€œFourth grade, here we come,” I said. β€œRoom 231, here we come!”
Β Β Β Β Β β€œTwo thirty-four,” he said, still looking at the floor.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œNoβ€”231,” I said. From my shirt pocket I took a manila card. Matthew took a similar card from his shirt pocket. On his card was written miss MISS FIORE, ROOM 234. I showed him my card. On it was written MRS. GRAHAM, ROOM 231.
Β Β Β Β Β β€œI should have known,” said Matthew. β€œI let myself get excited about this, I let myself be happy, and look what happened. I should have known. I should have known.”
Β Β Β Β Β He walked out of the boys’ room, and I followed him. He walked down the hall to the door of Room 234 while I stood in the hall watching. He never lifted his eyes from the floor, and he was still looking at the floor, shaking his head and muttering β€œI should have known,” when he opened the door and walked in. I wondered how on earth he had been able to tell where he was going.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times