The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
šŸŽ§ 278: In his letters . . .
1Ɨ
0:00
-3:37

šŸŽ§ 278: In his letters . . .

Herb ā€™nā€™ Lorna, Chapter 6 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā In his letters to Lorna from the hospital, Herb began to devote more space to matters other than business, including personal matters:

A lot of the other guys complain about the food, but Iā€™ve had worse. We generally have boiled potatoes and onions, and sometimes we have rice or stew. Breakfast might be just crackers and coffee, but it wasnā€™t many years ago that I didnā€™t have any breakfast. Lots of times, when I went to school, for lunch I would just take a potato. Sometimes Iā€™d have an onion sandwich, which didnā€™t make me too popular with the other kids! I used to sell papers on the street and also a thing that my buddies and I called rat pie. We got these pies at a bakery so we could sell them, and we used to joke that they were made of rat meat. I think all of us thought it was probably true. If a rat pie got wet in the rain or if somebody dropped one on the pavement, Iā€™d take it home, and weā€™d have that for dinner. Many nights weā€™d have just potatoes. So I donā€™t mind this food at all. In fact, sometimes when we have just bread and onions I make an onion sandwich and it reminds me of home. The truth is, I like onion sandwiches. . . . Iā€™m glad that the books are arriving on time. Iā€™d be pleased if you would continue to write to me to let me know how things are going, if it isnā€™t too much trouble.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā One of Herbā€™s letters to his mother was much like another, and they all included something like this:

So, you mustnā€™t worry about me, because, as I said, Iā€™m all right. My leg is healing just fine, and everyone says that I probably wonā€™t walk with a limp or be able to predict rain. Iā€™ve arranged to have some money sent to Uncle Ben for you. I donā€™t need any money where I am, so donā€™t you worry about taking it.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā One of his letters to Ben was much like another, and they all ended in the manner of this one:

Iā€™ve had a good week ā€” prices are climbing. Please give Mother an extra twelve dollars. I know youā€™re keeping track of everything you give her, and you can rest assured that I will be able to pay all of it back and then some.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā In one, however, he had a couple of interesting questions to ask:

Hereā€™s a funny thing. Some of the fellows here have been buying ā€œspecialā€ carved buttons for their uniforms. Where do you suppose theyā€™re buying them? Do you think we have competition? Some of the fellows say they heard that sometimes special carvings ā€” not buttons, but very special carvings ā€” come in packages from the Red Cross, but I donā€™t think that could be right, do you?

In Topical Guide 278, Mark Dorset considers Food: Onion Sandwiches from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times