The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
šŸŽ§ 319: One rainy evening ...
1Ɨ
0:00
-6:12

šŸŽ§ 319: One rainy evening ...

Herb ā€™nā€™ Lorna, Chapter 10 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

ONE RAINY EVENING not long after, Garth and May and Herb and Lorna were settled in front of a fire in Mayā€™s living room, and Herb was telling the story of the arrival at the showroom, that morning, of Miss Decker.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œShe took me by surprise,ā€ said Herb. ā€œShe was the last person any of us ever expected to buy a car. We used to joke about it.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œThatā€™s right,ā€ said Garth. ā€œIt was already a stale gag. Weā€™d be having a cup of coffee and someone would look up as if something had caught his eye and say, ā€˜My God, I donā€™t believe it! Here comes Miss Decker!ā€™ The idea was to make someone turn to see if she really was coming ā€” you know, just to see if you could get a rise out of someone.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWe used to do the same thing with, umm, a pretty girl, or ā€” ā€ said Herb.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œYeah,ā€ said Garth. ā€œIā€™d give a whistle and say ā€˜Ooooee,ā€™ or something like that, and see how many heads would turn.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œLife must be pretty boring at Babbington Studebaker,ā€ said May.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œAnyway,ā€ said Garth, ā€œwe had a name for those gags. What do you think we called them?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI canā€™t imagine,ā€ said May.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œā€‰ā€˜Miss Deckers,ā€™ā€‰ā€ said Garth.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œSo, when I looked up from my desk and saw Miss Decker,ā€ said Herb, ā€œI said, ā€˜My God, here comes Miss Decker!ā€™ Garth called out, ā€˜Youā€™re not getting me to come out of my office, Herb.ā€™ Well, I went to the door and held it open for her and said, ā€˜Good morning, Miss Decker.ā€™ā€‰ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI was sure he was trying to pull a Miss Decker on me,ā€ said Garth. ā€œI called out, ā€˜What on earth brings you here, Miss Decker?ā€™ I really exaggerated it, so Herb would know I hadnā€™t been taken in. I thought I was just going along with the gag.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œAnd Miss Decker called right back to him, bright and cheery, ā€˜I thought I might buy myself a car.ā€™ā€‰ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI thought I was going to have a heart attack,ā€ said Garth.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI heard Garthā€™s chair crash to the floor, and then I saw him in the doorway of his office, red as a beet, stammering and harrumphing.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI tell you, I couldnā€™t talk,ā€ said Garth. ā€œShe had pulled the biggest Miss Decker of them all.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œIt got worse,ā€ said Herb. ā€œShe wanted to buy a President tourer. Now, I had given a lot of thought to what kind of car would be best for her, just in case she ever did happen to walk into the showroom, and a big President was all wrong. I explained that a nice lightweight Erskine delivery car would be much more convenient for carrying the pies she makes, and that I was sure people would quickly become accustomed to her driving a delivery car.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œā€‰ā€˜I would look ridiculous,ā€™ she said.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œā€‰ā€˜Oh, no,ā€™ I told her. ā€˜You wouldnā€™t look ridiculous.ā€™ā€‰ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œAnd this is when I almost ruined it,ā€ admitted Garth. ā€œOrdinarily, I never interfere with a sale, but this was no ordinary sale. I came out of my office onto the floor and said, ā€˜Oh, no, Miss Decker, you wouldnā€™t look ridiculous at all! In fact, one of those big Presidents might make you look, well, not ridiculous exactly, but as if you were overreaching yourself.ā€™ Well overreaching was the wrong word, I guess. All I meant was that the damned car was too big and impractical, but after all, she does sell pies, doesnā€™t she? You would have thought Iā€™d called her a tramp.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œā€‰ā€˜Overreaching!ā€™ she shouted. ā€˜Overreaching! Why, why, why ā€”ā€™
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œAnd I said, ā€˜Well, that may have been the wrong word.ā€™
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œShe began reciting the family history. ā€˜The Deckers have been among the first families of Babbington since before there was a Babbington. Why, Ephraim Decker built the first house to have a stone-and-mortar foundation!ā€™ā€‰ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œThey were one of the last families to have indoor plumbing,ā€ said May.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI began backing toward my office,ā€ said Garth. ā€œā€‰ā€˜Iā€™m terribly sorry, Miss Decker,ā€™ I said. ā€˜Iā€™m not myself today. I may be coming down with something.ā€™ And you know what she said? ā€˜I should hope so!ā€™ā€‰ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā When they stopped laughing, Herb said, ā€œNow for the funny part.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œOh, she didnā€™t!ā€ cried Lorna.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œShe certainly did,ā€ said Herb. ā€œA seven-passenger tourer.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā They laughed. They repeated the best bits. They laughed some more. Garth made more drinks. After he had handed them around, he set his down and dropped to one knee in front of May. He said, ā€œIf youā€™re ready for something really funny, Iā€™d like to ask you to marry me, May.ā€

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Well! I laughed. To tell you the truth, I thought he was pulling a Miss Decker. So I thought Iā€™d pull one right back. I said yes.

In Topical Guide 319, Mark Dorset considers Goals & Aspirations: Appropriate & Inappropriate: ā€œOverreachingā€ and Studebakers from this episode.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times