The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
šŸŽ§ 331: May was determined ...
1Ɨ
0:00
-5:01

šŸŽ§ 331: May was determined ...

Herb ā€™nā€™ Lorna, Chapter 12 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā May was determined not to give up on Garth, but one frightening visit nearly drove her away from him. She had tried romance as a lure before and failed, but she had run out of ideas and so tried again, hoping that something, anything ā€” a difference in the weather or the phase of the moon ā€” would change her luck. She brought candles and wine and a good dinner to the cottage. She brought her filmiest nightgown. She managed to get Garth out of Nosyā€™s and into the cottage, and for a while she thought she was making real progress. Garth picked up a shrimp, stared at it for a while, and then ate it, and May hoped that he might still have an appetite for food. He looked May over and attempted a wolf whistle, and May hoped that he might still have an appetite for her. But then he picked up the bottle of wine and a glass and dropped into a chair, and it was clear that he had an appetite only for failure.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œMay,ā€ he said, ā€œIā€™ve been thinking.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œYes,ā€ she said. Her voice was lifeless and hollow. She was looking out the window, at nothing in particular.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œLetā€™s live here,ā€ said Garth. ā€œHere at the beach. I like it here, May. Youā€™d like it here, too. Theyā€™re swell people here, not like those people we used to know. Swell people ā€” the guys who work the bay.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œYou mean the guys who donā€™t work the bay,ā€ said May. She stubbed out her cigarette.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Garth chuckled. ā€œMaybe I do,ā€ he said. ā€œMaybe I do. Maybe theyā€™re the smart ones. They have nothing to lose. They had nothing to lose. Theyā€™re no worse off than they were before. Isnā€™t that smart? Come on, May, come on and live here with me. Forget about all ā€” ā€ He stood, wobbled, and, with the hand that held his glass, indicated Babbington by flinging a stream of wine in its direction. ā€œ ā€” that! ā€ he said.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Well, it was horrible, simply horrible. You have to understand that he wasnā€™t inviting me to sail off to Tahiti to join him in living some idyllic island life, some carefree existence ā€” coconut milk and mangoes and grass huts, that sort of thing. No, nothing like that. He was asking me to be a bum, like him, like those smelly, lumpy men. A bum! He wanted me to join him so that heā€™d know it was all right to be what he had become. Well, not on your life! I ran from there, ran.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā She did. She bolted for the door in her nightgown. Garth made a grab for her as she went by, a drunkā€™s try at an embrace, but she stepped aside and he lost his balance and fell. May pushed the screen door open and ran along the boardwalk toward the boat. Behind her, she could hear Garth laughing.

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā I cried all the way across the bay. I was running away from him. I was disgusted by him. And I was furious with him. The bastard was still so handsome. I can close my eyes now and see him slumped in that chair, asking me to live at the beach, and he looks like a damned movie star. I think I ran because I was afraid I might stay. Well. Maybe. Who knows?

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times