The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
šŸŽ§ 335: A coolness, . . .
1Ɨ
0:00
-3:40

šŸŽ§ 335: A coolness, . . .

Herb ā€™nā€™ Lorna, Chapter 13 continues, read by the author
AerocyclePodcastCover1.jpg

Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā A coolness, a distance, had developed between May and Garth that made life at Mayā€™s less than pleasant. Lorna and Herb were always, awkwardly, in the middle, listening to the confidences of one or the other, trying to offer the right advice, trying to bring back the happiness that had been in the house not so long ago. They couldnā€™t keep it up, and so Lorna and Herb decided, in the flush of optimism that their returning prosperity brought with it, to buy themselves a house. To provide a down payment, each of them, in secret, got from the appropriate uncle an advance on future coarse-goods work.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā One night, when Herb had his money in hand, he burst through the door wearing one of those ear-to-ear grins. ā€œLorna,ā€ he said, ā€œIā€™ve got great news.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWhy, I have, too, Herb,ā€ said Lorna.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œMe first,ā€ said Herb. ā€œMineā€™s too good to keep. You donā€™t mind, do you?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œNo. I donā€™t mind at all. You go ahead.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œI ā€” no, you go. I can see you want to. Go ahead.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œItā€™s all right, Herb, really. You go.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œNo, you, Lorna. It wasnā€™t fair of me to ā€” ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œHerrrb!ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œAll right. Look at this!ā€ He took a wad of bills from his pocket and fanned them in front of Lorna.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œHerb!ā€ said Lorna. ā€œWhere did you ā€” ?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œFrom the Studebaker company!ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œThe Studebaker company?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œThatā€™s right. I never said anything to you, because I didnā€™t want to worry you, but they held back part of my pay during the bad times. I never thought Iā€™d see a penny of it, and then all of a sudden, today, Garth called me into his office and handed me this.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œIn cash?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œSure, in ā€” well, no. No, not in cash. Of course not. A bank draft, but I cashed it. I cashed it right away because ā€” because ā€” I guess it was because I must have been worried that theyā€™d go out of business before I could cash it. That must have been it.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWell, wait till you see this,ā€ said Lorna. She produced a similar wad of bills.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWhereā€™d you get that?ā€ asked Herb.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œFrom Mr. Joseph. The jeweler.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWhat for?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWhy, the same as you. I hadnā€™t told you either. Mr. Joseph held back some of my pay, when he wasnā€™t able to pay me, sometimes.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œHe did?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œIsnā€™t that a coincidence?ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œItā€™s practically unbelievable,ā€ said Herb.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œIt is, isnā€™t it?ā€ said Lorna.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œHe paid you cash?ā€ asked Herb.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œYes,ā€ said Lorna. ā€œYes, he did. Cash. This cash. Just like this.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œHm,ā€ said Herb.
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œWhat luck,ā€ said Lorna. ā€œYou know, I think we have enough to look for a house.ā€
Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā ā€œOh, Iā€™m sure of it,ā€ said Herb.

Have you missed an episode or two or several?

0 Comments
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy
The entire Personal History, Adventures, Experiences & Observations of Peter Leroy, read by the author. "A masterpiece of American humor." Los Angeles Times